Verse (2:186): “I am indeed close”

بِسْمِ اللَّهِ الرَّحْمَـنِ الرَّحِيمِ

وَإِذَا سَأَلَكَ عِبَادِي عَنِّي فَإِنِّي قَرِيبٌ أُجِيبُ دَعْوَةَ الدَّاعِ إِذَا دَعَانِ فَلْيَسْتَجِيبُواْ لِى وَلْيُؤْمِنُواْ بِى لَعَلَّهُمْ يَرْشُدُونَ
(2:126)

Yusuf Ali (2:186): When My servants ask thee concerning Me, I am indeed close (to them): I listen to the prayer of every suppliant when he calleth on Me: Let them also, with a will, Listen to My call, and believe in Me: That they may walk in the right way.

This Qur’anic verse encompasses so many concepts: Oneness, awareness, guidance, submission, wakefulness, trust, Mercy, Generosity, Love, etc. Allah (SWT) Responds when asked to what is best for the well being of the person for He Knows what is best for the person even if the he/she does not understand. From my experience and that of others sometimes it is answered as it is, in part, delayed, answered in a different way and other times the way is so astonishing to the person it seems unbelievable, of course Allah (SWT) can do anything but the human mind does not understand the Wisdom behind it and why it has to be as such. It reminds me of the story of prophet Zakariya (as):

كهيعص – ذِكْرُ رَحْمَتِ رَبِّكَ عَبْدَهُ زَكَرِيَّآ – إِذْ نَادَى رَبَّهُ نِدَآءً خَفِيّاً – قَالَ رَبِّ إِنِّى وَهَنَ الْعَظْمُ مِنِّى وَاشْتَعَلَ الرَّأْسُ شَيْباً وَلَمْ أَكُنْ بِدُعَآئِكَ رَبِّ شَقِيّاً – وَإِنِّي خِفْتُ الْمَوَالِىَ مِن وَرَآئِى وَكَانَتِ امْرَأَتِى عَاقِرًا فَهَبْ لِى مِن لَّدُنْكَ وَلِيّاً – يَرِثُنِى وَيَرِثُ مِنْ ءَالِ يَعْقُوبَ وَاجْعَلْهُ رَبِّ رَضِيّاً

يزَكَرِيَّآ إِنَّا نُبَشِّرُكَ بِغُلَـمٍ اسْمُهُ يَحْيَى لَمْ نَجْعَل لَّهُ مِن قَبْلُ سَمِيّاً

قَالَ رَبِّ أَنَّى يَكُونُ لِى غُلَـمٌ وَكَانَتِ امْرَأَتِى عَاقِراً وَقَدْ بَلَغْتُ مِنَ الْكِبَرِ عِتِيّاً – قَالَ كَذَلِكَ قَالَ رَبُّكَ هُوَ عَلَىَّ هَيِّنٌ وَقَدْ خَلَقْتُكَ مِن قَبْلُ وَلَمْ تَكُ شَيْئاً
(19:1-9)

Yusuf Ali (19: 1-9)- Kaf. Ha. Ya. ‘Ain. Sad. (This is) a recital of the Mercy of thy Lord to His servant Zakariya. Behold! he cried to his Lord in secret, Praying: “O my Lord! infirm indeed are my bones, and the hair of my head doth glisten with grey: but never am I unblest, O my Lord, in my prayer to Thee! “Now I fear (what) my relatives (and colleagues) (will do) after me: but my wife is barren: so give me an heir as from Thyself,- “(One that) will (truly) represent me, and represent the posterity of Jacob; and make him, O my Lord! one with whom Thou art well-pleased!” (His prayer was answered): “O Zakariya! We give thee good news of a son: His name shall be Yahya: on none by that name have We conferred distinction before.” He said: “O my Lord! How shall I have a son, when my wife is barren and I have grown quite decrepit from old age?” He said: “So (it will be) thy Lord saith, ‘that is easy for Me: I did indeed create thee before, when thou hadst been nothing!'”

Ask Allah (SWT) and Trust in Him….

Leave a Reply

