Sometimes I feel like an alien…

I know that I’m idealistic in my morals but for the last month I have been feeling more and more like I’m from another planet all together. In my planet right is right and wrong and wrong but in this planet they are reversed.

It seems people want me to justify why I ask for the right thing to be done or why I did the right thing. Providing the reason is not the problem rather the exasperation I face when I speak of morals. The sad thing is that this attitude does not come from only adults but even children. In one instance I was trying to break a fight between 13 year olds who were arguing who is better between them due to the amount of money they have so I interjected and said that doesn’t matter and we are all equal and mentioned an ayat from the Qur’an that Allah SWT allocates who gets what etc. What I got in response was: are you teaching us religion now? with an attitude. This comes from a group of all Muslim students. I speak to them about doing what is in their own interest (in a good approach of course) and it is like I’m speaking a foreign language they have never heard before. According to them what is in their interest is not learning and studying but cheating.

Oh man what am I supposed to say about the adults? As one of them told me I shouldn’t speak of ideals or morals rather I should go to the level of the ones who have none. Yes, yes I shouldn’t have any ideals and manners rather I should become like those others.

You ask a 50 year old why she isn’t praying just out of curiosity and not even in criticism and you get answered that she is living her life now and when she grows old then she will pray. What is old anyway now? 70-80. Who knows when she is going to die? Can’t someone enjoy life, pray and act according to Islamic values at the same time?

Irresponsibility, disrespect, lying, etc. is so prevalent I feel like exploding sometimes. I have been lucky before to work with good people but it seems it is my turn to have to deal with these likes who scoff at manners and what is good.  It is a good thing that Allah SWT is the Most Merciful.  We all will be held responsible for our actions and have to bear the consequences.  May Allah SWT guide us all, amen.

35:45 If Allah were to punish men according to what they deserve. He would not leave on the back of the (earth) a single living creature: but He gives them respite for a stated Term: when their Term expires, verily Allah has in His sight all His Servants.

37:39 But it will be no more than the retribution of (the Evil) that ye have wrought;

2 thoughts on “Sometimes I feel like an alien…

Leave a Reply

