Beacon


    glitter-graphics.com

Searching for the beacon of light

A sea of people around me all looking for something

Is it the beacon?

Innately knowing it is greater than I

How can I find it? With my senses? With my mind? With my heart?

I notice some people hailing they have found it

I run towards them only to see them clinging to an idol

I tell them that the idol is a non-living object how it can lead me if it can’t lead itself!

They push me away; forget them for they have not found anything

I keep searching, I know it is there!

Lead me to the path oh Great one! Lead me for I am lost with You

I pass many people all claiming they have found the one who will lead them

I knew they were all wrong, I knew what I was searching for

It seems like I have walked past the people, past the noise, past the confusion

It is all dark now but I’m not afraid

I know something will appear

There it is! I see the light! It has been calling me in the right direction all along

Suddenly people surround me and welcoming me in their midst and congratulate me for passing the numerous tests in my path

Engulfed by the light in front of us we walk towards it…

اللَّهُ نُورُ السَّمَاوَاتِ وَالْأَرْضِ مَثَلُ نُورِهِ كَمِشْكَاةٍ فِيهَا مِصْبَاحٌ الْمِصْبَاحُ فِي زُجَاجَةٍ الزُّجَاجَةُ كَأَنَّهَا كَوْكَبٌ دُرِّيٌّ يُوقَدُ مِن شَجَرَةٍ مُّبَارَكَةٍ زَيْتُونِةٍ لَّا شَرْقِيَّةٍ وَلَا غَرْبِيَّةٍ يَكَادُ زَيْتُهَا يُضِيءُ وَلَوْ لَمْ تَمْسَسْهُ نَارٌ نُّورٌ عَلَى نُورٍ يَهْدِي اللَّهُ لِنُورِهِ مَن يَشَاء وَيَضْرِبُ اللَّهُ الْأَمْثَالَ لِلنَّاسِ وَاللَّهُ بِكُلِّ شَيْءٍ عَلِيمٌ

24:35 (Y. Ali) Allah is the Light of the heavens and the earth. The Parable of His Light is as if there were a Niche and within it a Lamp: the Lamp enclosed in Glass: the glass as it were a brilliant star: Lit from a blessed Tree, an Olive, neither of the east nor of the west, whose oil is well-nigh luminous, though fire scarce touched it: Light upon Light! Allah doth guide whom He will to His Light: Allah doth set forth Parables for men: and Allah doth know all things.

Leave a Reply

