The adventures of Koki, the parrot-episode 1

Koki
Koki

I think it is time to introduce you to our family parrot, Koki, even though she has had many adventures before I thought to start anew because I doubt they will end any time soon. We have had her for about 26 years now. Parrots live a long life if they are taken care of and Iโ€™ve heard experts say they have the intelligence of 5 to 7 year olds, though I beg to differ and they might be even smarter than some humans. Parrots live in flocks and she has been with us since she was a chick so we are her flock; we are humans then she is bound to think she is one. Koki has to be around us all the time and refuses to sit with other birds.

All that is mentioned below are real accounts and no fiction involved. ๐Ÿ˜›

Koki receives guests-episode 1

Koki lives the life of luxury for she expects her flock to do what she asks. In the morning, she takes her breakfast in the kitchen, an arrangement of fruits and juice, when it is noon (sharp!) she expects to go to the bedroom to sit to my brother and take her nap there.

Koki is meticulous about her schedule if any form of change happens in it she shares her various high pitched sounds and calls on us to do her biding in order form โ€œZinoub! To the room!โ€ (in arabic). To avoid the sounds as usual today I took her to sit with my brother. A few minutes later we received a guest, my brother’s friend, she didnโ€™t like it but kept an eye on him all the while. After an hour he left, she thought finally I need to take my nap! A few minutes later the door rang again and our neighbor came to visit and she went to talk to my brother, Koki is having none of that! She decided to show our neighbor her wrath and proceeded to the end of her cage where we put a nylon bag and started tearing it and throwing her food out the cage all the while making sounds and hitting the cage with her beak. Our neighbor was surprised and when she approached her the noise went louder! My sister tried to calm her down but she kept on going so the neighbor said โ€œwhat ill mannered bird you are!โ€ (oh the embarrassment! Is there a bird rescue nanny?). Even after they left the room she kept it on until I came and threatened her with water (she hates taking bathes): โ€œKoki you crazy bird, go up the cage before I throw water on your head!โ€ She understood what I said and went up to take a nap after all that ruckus. After about an hour, we had another visitor and here we go again! Through out the day she kept on doing that until my sister took her out of the cage for her daily grooming and she calmed down then.

I donโ€™t think anyone taught her those insane ways but rather she has a unique way of expressing she is upset for nothing should disturb the nap! :S

To be continued with other episodes inshaโ€™Allah ๐Ÿ˜€

11 thoughts on “The adventures of Koki, the parrot-episode 1

    1. hfm

      Subha’Allah! I visited briefly your blog yesterday and said I’m bound to come back! Haha she is a lot of fun in an crazy type of way ๐Ÿ˜†

      DN

      While writing this I remembered you asking me once to talk about her ๐Ÿ˜€ Lol yes even poor animals can’t get away with that. The funny thing is that neighbor has a parrot herself and she is the one who gave us Koki, both parrots were a gift to her from my aunt (Mom’s sister).

  1. That is the funniest bird story yet! She is so crazy-cute! That lady who said “What an ill-mannered bird” sounds like one of my aunts, who used to say about us kids, “What naughty kids!” ๐Ÿ˜† Poor bird–even birds can’t get away with naughtiness ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. I remember Koki, from FOI you posted pics, no? Ach, I love parrots. They are HI_LA_RI_OUS! And Koki is such an adorable name. And seems very intelligent, I’d be angry towards random aunties too if I was a parrot. xD

    HAHAHA @ bird rescue nanny. xD

    1. Yup the one and only, she scares my mom sometimes when we would be having a conversation then she says something related to what we said. Like today we are talking about sickness so she coughs ๐Ÿ˜†

    1. Ahmed is that you? How are you?! Hope you and the family are well.

      If not, sorry because someone else used to ask me the same thing.

      Sure take her but no refunding allowed ๐Ÿ˜› You have no idea what is waiting for you.

  3. ahmed? never heard of the guy ๐Ÿ˜›

    i’m good alhamdulillah, urself?

    i’m willing to take the risk ๐Ÿ˜€

    1. It has been such a long time! The years in my head are blurred. Al hamdulilah Iโ€™m well. Wen aradeek? Ba3dak bil Bahrain?

      Yeah you can take her I think my sister is ready to let her go. She has been a little monster lately. ๐Ÿ˜€

      1. it has, hasn’t it? yup, still here! u still in touch with the others? i hope everyone’s good…

        the more akhlaqha 3adam the better lol =P

        u know what… u send her over n u can have alllll the cats that live in our garden. they’ve turned it into a bloody maternity ward… we find a new mum n a bunch of kittens every other day. i thought they were dead rats at first, they’re so ugly <_<

      2. Yeah I talked to amani and mesh a week or so ago, they are well alhamdulilah and Ajla is ok too I think I talked to her a while ago. Haven’t talked to Talha in quite some time though.

        Oh you will get plenty of ilet akhlaq <_< the bird has lost it completely I'll send her right over though you should know she is a picky eater and likes the finest of foods ๐Ÿ˜›

        Lol sounds like a cat zoo. Are you sure they are cats? ๐Ÿ˜†

        Hope fatherhood is suiting you well.

Leave a Reply

