Ramadan notes

-Ramadan is here wa alhamdulilah. Ramadan mubarak and Ramadan Kareem all! 😀 I love this month not only for the obvious reasons but it has an amazing calming effect on me as a person. I feel peaceful and collected while at the same time there is a sense of renewal of everything you are as a person. It is a time for going over past issues and starting anew. Even though I’m having some problems uniting my thoughts what I want to end this month with it is as if your own mind and body knows what it is and they try to guide you in the right path. I think it begins from one’s intention to really want to improve and change for the better. We are lucky to have this opportunity every year; I think not many appreciate it.

{Really soon: Oh Allah I am fasting} by Abed Al Rahman Al Zahrani
{Really soon: Oh Allah I am fasting} by Abed Al Rahman Al Zahrani

-The picture above caught my eye. Many are usually on edge during this month even though it should not be the case. I’m not a nutritionist but I think it has to do with sugar levels in the blood and health habits. I get irritated from the slightest thing if I don’t eat for a long period of time so I am taking care of that by eating well.

I have some suggestions for suhur that give you energy with minimal feelings of hunger: eat dates, banana with honey drizzled on it (I tend to put it in Arabic bread), and grapes.

Also some suggestions for iftar I’ll be adding to later on:

Potato soup

Fatoush (this is one way to do it)

Fish fillet escalope

French fries

Enjoy! 🙂

-Don’t forget to read the Qur’an during this blessed month! If you read 42 pages a day you can finish it twice during the month and if you are not able then 21 pages a day to finish it once…well you get the idea if you want to read it more.

Leave a Reply

